Research shows that our family name has been spelled in several ways such as Park, Parke, Parkes and Parks. But mostly the early ones spelled their name as Parke.
Records indicate our lineage changed from Parke to Park by Moses Park 1738-1829
With so many families giving their children the same given names, John,James,Moses,Roger, William, etc. makes it difficult to trace the family lineage by public records.
Especially since there were very few records kept in the early days in this country.
One source for the family name came from people who lived in the Valley of the Parch or Parc in southeastern France. Other researchers say the name came from a follower of William the Conqueror when he invaded England in 1066. This lineage has been traced back to Charlemagne, the great great grandfather of Europe.